Welcome to the Tax Commissioners Office. If you need assistance please come by and see us. We can provide basic information to assist the community in any tax questions you might have.
- Tags must be renewed on or before your birthday.
- Property Taxes are due by December 20th each year.
- Mobile Home Taxes are due by May 1st each year.
- Personal property forms are due by April 1st each year. Note: If you no longer own the listed items, you must contact the Tax Assessors office or you will be taxed on it.
- All property tax returns are due by April 1st.
- Homesteads can be applied for Between Jan 1st and April 1st.
- Apply for farm programs (conservation and Preferential) by April 1st.
- All mobile homes must be registered in the Tax Assessors office. You must display your decal. If you do not do so, you can be sent to magistrate court. Contact the Tax Assessors office.
Past due charges are added as follows:
Property - There is a 1% interest added to your tax bill on the 21st of each month (12% annum until paid. In March of each year a 10% penalty is added, along with a FIFA and cost charge.
Real property sold have 1 year right of redemption.
Mobile Homes - There is a 1% interest added to your tax bill on the 1st of each month (12% annum until paid. In August of each year a 10% penalty is added, along with a FIFA and cost charge. Manufactured Homes sold have no rights of redemption.
If your account is not paid within a timely manner it will be turned over to DTSi for Tax Sale. You will incur admin/levy fees up to $215.00 plus that will be added to your account and your property will be advertised in the Sylvester Local. We urge you to pay your taxes on time or make arrangements to avoid some of these additional fees.
- If you trade in a vehicle...keep your old tag. As long as the tag and the vehicle are in the same name we can transfer that tag to your new vehicle. All vehicles that are 1986 or newer requires a Georgia title in order to register it. The State of Georgia has a variety of tags please go the following site and click on tag samples: www.dmvs.ga.gov/plate.
- If you cancel your insurance for any reason, please contact our office to cancel your registration. If you do not do this, you will receive a letter from the State with a $25.00 lapse fee. If you fail to comply and pay that fee you will get an additional fine of $65.00. You must come into the office to cancel your registration and show ID.
- If you purchase a vehicle out of state, you may be liable to pay sales tax to Georgia before we can apply for your title and issue a tag here.
We take Visa, Mastercard & Discover; Credit and Debit cards.
There is a $3.00 fee added on Debit transactions and a 2% on Credit transactions.
Deputy Tax Commissioner
Lead Tax & Tag Specialist
Tax & Tag Specialist